Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Fixture News

Carabao Cup Draw to be Streamed Live This Friday

12 June 2017

Sponsored by

The draw for Round One of the 2017/18 Carabao Cup will be streamed live from Bangkok, Thailand this Friday, June 16 at 1pm (UK time).

World Cup winner Emmanuel Petit, Carabao CEO Sathien Setthasit, British Ambassador to Thailand Brian Davidson and EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey will unveil the 35 Round One ties from the home of the competition’s title sponsor, Carabao Energy Drink.  Fans will be able to watch the draw unfold live on various platforms, including EFL’s new live streaming platform, iFollow, on Facebook via the Carabao Cup and Carabao UK pages and

Nearly 1.5 million people went to matches in the EFL Cup last season as the competition recorded record breaking attendances. Victory in the competition’s final will guarantee the winner the first piece of silverware of the domestic season and a place in the Europa League in the following campaign. 

Seventy EFL Clubs will be in the draw with matches scheduled to take place week commencing August 7, with Sunderland included. Championship newcomers Hull City and Middlesbrough will join the competition in Round Two alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

This year’s final in February saw Manchester United beat Southampton 3-2 in front of over 85,000 people. The 2017/18 Carabao Cup Final, the 58th in the competition’s history, will take place at Wembley Stadium on Sunday, February 25.

Friday’s draw is also regionalised to minimise travelling time for supporters in the first round with seeding decided by a Club’s finishing position in the EFL.  

The Spireites have been placed in the Northern Non-Seeds along with the teams listed below: -

North – Seeds

1.  Barnsley

2.  Blackburn Rovers

3.  Bolton Wanderers

4.  Bradford City

5.  Burton Albion

6.  Derby County

7.  Fleetwood Town

8.  Leeds United

9.  Nottingham Forest

10. Preston North End

11. Rochdale

12. Rotherham United

13.  Scunthorpe United

14.  Sheffield United

15.  Sheffield Wednesday

16.  Sunderland

17.  Wigan Athletic

North – Non-Seeds

18.  Accrington Stanley

19.  Blackpool

20.  Bury

21.  Carlisle United

22.  Chesterfield

23.  Coventry City

24.  Crewe Alexandra

25.  Doncaster Rovers

26.  Grimsby Town

27.  Lincoln City

28.  Mansfield Town

29.  Morecambe

30.  Notts County

31.  Oldham Athletic

32.  Port Vale

33.  Shrewsbury Town

34.  Walsall

Advertisement block