Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Help Us Choose Our Mitre Goal of the Year

17 January 2016

Sponsored by

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals should be put forward as our nomination.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by watching the YouTube video below and voting for the best goal.

To vote click on the YouTube link here and write your winner in the comments section.

The closing date for voting is January 24 at 6pm, we will then tally up the votes and put forward our winner for consideration for the award.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2016 held at Manchester Central.  A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football League Tonight Show.  

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at Manchester Central on April 17, 2016. 

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block