Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Darikwa Stars at Player of the Year Awards

6 May 2015

Sponsored by

Spireites right back Tendayi Darikwa was the star of the evening at the Player of the Year Awards on Monday night, picking up four awards at the sold-out event.

The first team squad and management team joined chairman Dave Allen and hundreds of Spireites supporters as 500 people enjoyed a three-course meal in three large marquees erected in front of the Proact Stadium.

After the awards ceremony guests were entertained by multi-hit band The Christians, whose set included the hit songs 'Harvest for the World', 'Hooverville' and 'Words'.

Sky Sports broadcaster Nick Johnson and BBC Radio Sheffield correspondent Phil Tooley were the compéres for the evening with the first award of the evening going to Ritchie Humphreys his his contribution to the local community.

Jay O'Shea picked up the Goal of the Season gong for his stunner in the Good Friday match at Yeovil Town, a strike that came at the end of a 17-pass team move as the Spireites came from 2-0 down to win 3-2 at Huish Park.

Tendayi Darikwa was soon stealing the headlines and the popular defender picked up four awards in total, including the prestigious Players' Player of the Season and Player of the Year trophies.

With the meal eaten, manager Paul Cook received the Luke and Ron Goodwin Achievement Award before Jake Beesley collected his award for the Academy Player of the Year.

Beesley was soon busy again as he and fellow academy graduate Laurence Maguire modelled the new home and away kits to be worn in the 2015/16 season. The two shirts were soon auctioned off along with a signed England under 17s shirt, a match-used Mitre ball and Jimmy Ryan's boots from last year's Johnstone's Paint Trophy Final at Wembley.

After watching Eoin Doyle's recorded interview in accepting his Top Goalscorer Award, attention switched to the fans with Ian Browes and Jean Roper awarded with a trophy for their outstanding contribution to the club.

The final award of the evening was given to Lesley Brentnall, who was given the second-ever Chesterfield FC Fan of the Year Award.

Congratulations to all the award winners from the evening, a night to celebrate a glorious season at Chesterfield FC - a season that has not finished yet.

Advertisement block