Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Fans Choose Their Spireites of the Decade

1 March 2015

Sponsored by

Drum roll please...the Spireites support have spoken and nominated their stars of the decade for the Football League Awards in April.

Supporters were asked to nominate a goalkeeper, a defender, a midfielder and a striker from the last ten years to be put forward selection for the Team of the Decade Award, to be chosen on April 19 at the Football League Awards.

With the votes in and counted, here are the four Spireites nominations:

Tommy Lee (gk) - Few surprises as the current Chesterfield number one is also voted as the top stopper of the last decade. Recently making his 250th league appearance for the Spireites, Lee's status as a legend has long been secured.

Steve Blatherwick (df) - Signing for the club in 1998 and spending the last eight years of his career with Chesterfield. Baltherwick was part of the team that won promotion to the third tier in 2001.

Gary Roberts (mf) - Joining the Spireites as recently as 2013, Roberts has more than made his mark at the Proact, winning the League Two Player of the Season as Chesterfield won the title in 2013/14. Roberts will also go down in folklore after scoring the championship-winner at home to Fleetwood Town on the last day of last season.
Jack Lester (st) - Winning the striking berth by a sizeable margin, Lester's number 14 shirt is no longer used by the Spireites in respect of their legendary marksman. Lester lifted the Johnstone's Paint Trophy at Wembley for Chesterfield in 2012 and keeps company with the greats in Chesterfield's all-time goalscoring list.

Thank you to all supporters who nominated their favourite Spireites of the decades, let's see how we fare in the Football League Awards and if we are able to be represented in the overall team of the decade come April. 

Advertisement block