Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Capital One Cup Seedings

12 June 2013

Sponsored by

The Capital One Cup round one draw seedings and regional splits have been announced.

The first round draw for the 2013/14 Capital One Cup will be held at 9.30am on Monday, June 17.

The draw is seeded based on the final league positions of teams from the 2012/13 season, and then split regionally - north and south.

Chesterfield have been grouped in the 'non-seeds - north' category along with the likes of Rotherham United, Scunthorpe United and Bradford City.

The list of teams who qualified in the 'seeds - north' category and could face the Spireites in the first round of the Capital One Cup are as follows:

Blackburn Rovers
Bolton Wanderers
Crewe Alexandra
Derby County
Doncaster Rovers
Huddersfield Town
Leeds United
Nottingham Forest
Notts County
Sheffield United
Sheffield Wednesday
Tranmere Rovers
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Most notably, there is the possibility for a local derby in the opening round of the competition with Barnsley, Doncaster, Sheffield United and Sheffield Wednesday all in the group of teams that could be drawn against Chesterfield.

The first round fixtures will be held on the week commencing Monday, August 5. 

Advertisement block