Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Flashback: Spireites Secure Title

20 February 2013

Sponsored by

The Spireites capped off a memorable first season at the Proact Stadium by securing the npower League Two title in 2011.

John Sheridan's men had topped the table for the majority of the season but made sure of top spot with a 3-1 victory over Gillingham.

One point would have been enough to guarantee first place and the home fans were made to sweat after an even first-half ended goalless.

The Gills themselves needed three points to certify their place in the play-offs and looked dangerous in the opening 45 minutes, with Cody McDonald in particular causing problems in the home defence.

It was Danny Whitaker, who enjoyed a fruitful season in front of goal, that broke the deadlock nine minutes after the restart. Jack Lester clashed with his marker on the edge of the box and Whitaker pounced on the loose ball, rounded the keeper and squeezed the ball into the back of the net from the tightest of angles.

Striker Cody McDonald had Spireites nerves jangling once again though when he capitalised on a defensive mix-up to level the scores. But the talismanic Lester did his best to settle those nerves when he converted a Scott Griffiths cross to restore the one goal advantage.

With one hand on the trophy, Dean Smalley firmly place a second eight minutes from time.  Griffiths again the provider, this time his low delivery found Smalley who made no mistake from two yards.

Chesterfield were deservedly crowned champions and a capacity crowd of 10,023 were treated to post-match presentations on the pitch.

Heroes of the season were introduced two-by-two to rapturous applause, before being presented with the npower League Two trophy.

Advertisement block